The things you wish you’d remembered before it was too late

I now make it a rule to write a ‘things still to do’
list as I go through the setup of a show. I didn’t always…

I started noticing a trend in events I did. I would
get past the first rush of setup and get everything pretty much in place.
Screens up, projectors up, wiring run, PPU working, cameras in place, but then
there would be a long list of little wee tasks to do – you know the kind of
thing:

– check projector focus once
screens have settled

– check projector colour
settings

– check camera white
balance

– adjust scan converter screen
positioning

– check all sightlines for
cameras

– tape down
cables

– label inputs at back of
PPU

etc.
etc.

I would spend the rest of the time
prior to kickoff remembering, then forgetting, then being in the wrong place to
do anything about them, then being in the right place, but forgetting again,
until eventually the show would start and It would be down to chance whether I
had got them all done.

Then I got
sorted, and got in the habit of writing down a list, right after setup of all
the things that had to be done before the start of the
show.

Then when someone shouted “can we
open the doors?” I could immediately see what, if anything was left to
do.

Comments are closed.

